COTTON REGIONS AND CHANGES TO VALLEY DEFINITIONS OVER TIME PERIOD 1992 - PRESENT

Queensland		Start reporting year	End reporting year	Notes
Emerald	Inactive	1989-90	2010-11	
Central Highlands (this was previously called Emerald)	Active	2011-12		
Biloela/Theodore	Inactive	1989-90	2010-11	
Dawson Valley (thia was previously called Biloela/Theodore)	Active	2011-12		
Darling Downs	Active	1989-90		
St George	Active	1989-90		
Dirranbandi	Active	1998-99		
St George (including Dirranbandi)	Inactive	1995-96	1997-98	
Burdekin	Inactive	2007-08	2014-15	
Macintyre Valley	Active	2011-12		this was previously in NSW, up until 2010-11
Far North Queensland	Active	2020-21		
NSW				
Namoi	Inactive	1989-90	1996-97	
Upper Namoi	Active	1997-98		
Lower Namoi	Active	1997-98	2008-09	Becomes active again 2011-12 to present
Lower Namoi (including Walgett)	Inactive	2009-10	2010-11	
Gwydir	Active	1989-90		
Walgett	Active	2011-12		
Macintrye	Active	1989-90	2010-11	Macintyre was moved to QLD in 2011-12- and Mungindi in its place
Mungindi	Active	2011-12		
Macquarie	Active	1989-90		
Bourke	Active	1989-90		
Tandou	Inactive	1996-96	2007-08	
Sth NSW (Hillston)	Inactive	1998-99	2002-03	
Sthn NSW (Lachlan and Murrumbidgee Valleys)	Inactive	2003-04	2007-08	
Southern NSW (Lachlan and Murrumbidgee Valleys + Tandou)	Inactive	2008-09	2010-11	
Lachlan	Active	2011-12		
Tandou/Murrumbidgee	Inactive	2011-12	2017-18	
Murray/Murrumbidgee	Active	2018-19		
Other	Inactive	1991-92	1997-98	
Western Australia	Active	2020-21		
Northern Territory	Active	2020-21		

ADDITIONAL NOTES:

In two cases there was just a name change (Emerald to Central Queensland, and Biloela/Theodore to Dawson Valley)
From 1995-96 to 1996-97 upland and pima cotton were separated out - totals have been reporting in dashboard
From 2001-02 until 2010-11, "about 40% of Macintyre cotton was estimated to be grown in QLD".....prior to that, Macintyre was included in NSW
Production of seed began being reported in 2001-12